Open Call with SSH aspects on Labour force shortages within the long-term care sector

Logo: JPI More Years, Better Lifes

Published on: 12/04/2024

The Joint Programming Initiative More Years, Better Lives (JPI MYBL) launched a transnational call with SSH aspects on "Labour force shortages within the long-term care sector" with deadline on 14 May 2024.

Deadline: for proposal submission: 14 May, 16:00 (CET)


Weblink (URL):

Call text 


Short Call Abstract:

This call aims to fund research on three interrelated aspects of the labour force shortages in the LTC sector within the framework of demographic change, ageing and care of older people. Proposals must address all three research topics outlined below: 

  1. Working situation
  2. The role of AI
  3. Cross-national differences and similarities within different welfare systems

Proposals must pay particular attention to cross-cutting issues of gender, ethnicity and social inclusion.

Proposals should include the perspective of care givers as well as those receiving care.  

The involvement of industry and/or third sector project partners is encouraged, where appropriate. 

Overall, proposals are expected to go beyond only the mapping of issues described and instead proposes practical solutions informing policymakers, the care sector and/or other. 


SSH aspects (keywords/disciplines):

Sociology, Economics, Political Science, Anthropology, Gender Studies, Ethics


Specific participation requirements (optional):

Proposals may be submitted by applicants belonging to one of the following categories (according to national/ regional eligibility criteria): Public and private scientific research, technological and innovation institutions, universities, other higher education institutions.

If an applicant is found to be non-eligible by one of the funding organisations after the eligibility check, the entire proposal will be rejected without further review and cannot be resubmitted. 

For more information please check the call text



Austria, Belgium, Germany, Sweden, Netherlands, United Kingdom, Finland.